

TOURNAMENT & FIELD NOTES

NAPLES, Fla. (December 6, 2022) – For the 22nd consecutive year, the QBE Shootout comes to Tiburon Golf Club at The Ritz-Carlton Naples, Tiburon and 24 individuals will compete as 12 two-person teams. The event is celebrating its 34th year on the PGA TOUR calendar. The tournament is the longest running PGA TOUR-sanctioned post-season event. Here are some notes regarding what has become a favorite annual gathering for professionals, amateurs, and fans:

<u>World Rankings:</u> There are five players, among the 22 PGA TOUR players in the field this week, who are among the top 30 in the world rankings and there are ten players in the top 50. These include **Max Homa** (16), **Cameron Young** (17), **Billy Horschel** (18), **Brian Harman** (23), **Sepp Straka** (27). On the Rolex Rankings, **Nelly Korda** is No. 2 and **Lexi Thompson** is No. 7.

<u>First-Time Shootout Participants:</u> There are ten players competing in the Shootout for the first time including **Tom Hoge**, **Nelly Korda**, **Denny McCarthy**, **Maverick McNealy**, **Keith Mitchell**, **Trey Mullinax**, **J.J. Spaun**, **Sepp Straka**, **Sahith Theegala**, and **Cameron Young**.

<u>Past Champions:</u> Four (4) players in the field have won the QBE Shootout and include Harris English, Matt Kuchar (3 wins), Steve Stricker (2 wins) and Jason Day.

<u>Individual Victories:</u> Six players have won three times as individuals in the history of the Shootout. **Harris English** and **Matt Kuchar** ('13, '16, '20) are two of those. **Steve Elkington**, **Fred Couples** and **Brad Faxon** also won three times.

Rookie Team Winners: Other than the first year of the tournament in 1989, the only time two individuals, both making their first start and paired together, won the QBE Shootout were **Keegan Bradley** and **Brendan Steele** in 2011.

Rookie Winners: Fourteen players have won the QBE Shootout in their first attempt: Mark O'Meara (1989), Curtis Strange (1989), Fred Couples (1990), Tom Purtzer (1991), Scott McCarron (1997), Hank Kuehne (2003), Rod Pampling (2006), Woody Austin (2007), Keegan Bradley (2011), Brendan Steele (2011), Harris English (2013), Cameron Tringale (2014), Patton Kizzire (2018) and Kevin Tway (2019).

Rookie of the Year: Cameron Young was voted the 2022 PGA TOUR Rookie of the Year.

<u>Presidents Cup:</u> Six players in the field competed in the Presidents Cup this year. Corey Conners and K.H. Lee were on the International team while Max Homa, Billy Horschel, Kevin Kisner and Cameron Young were members of the victorious U.S. team.

<u>FedExCup:</u> Billy Horschel won the season-long competition on the PGA TOUR in 2014. Max Homa (5th), Sepp Straka (7th) and Tom Hoge (10th) were among the top ten finishers for the 2022 season.

<u>UGA:</u> There are four players in the field who attended the University of Georgia, who heads into the College Football Playoffs as the No. 1 seed. **Harris English**, **Brian Harman**, **Kevin Kisner** and **Sepp Straka** all played golf for the Bulldogs. English and Harman were there at the same time.

<u>Notable Amateurs:</u> The Wednesday and Thursday pro-am will include several amateurs familiar with the public. ESPN's **Chris Berman** returns to compete in the pro-am portion of the tournament. Also, musicians **Jake Owen**, who is part of Saturday's LIVE FEST lineup at Tiburon, will play as will **Ben Rector**.

By Age: Nelly Korda and Sahith Theegala, both age 24, are the youngest players in the field and 55-year-old **Steve Stricker** is the oldest. Seven of the 24 players in the field are in their 20s.

<u>Repeat Pairings:</u> There are two returning teams this year—three-time champions Harris English-Matt Kuchar and Max Homa-Kevin Kisner, who finished T5 playing together for the first time last year.

New Teams: Ten of the 12 teams in this year's Shootout will be together for the first time.

<u>Total # of PGA TOUR Victories:</u> Collectively, the group has nine TOUR victories during the 2021-22 season and the recent start of the 2022-23 season. **Max Homa** won three times during that stretch, including successfully defending his Fortinet Championship title in September. **Tom Hoge**, **Billy Horschel**, **K.H. Lee**, **Trey Mullinax**, **J.J. Spaun** and **Sepp Straka** were also PGA TOUR winners during the recently completed season. **Nelly Korda** won a few weeks ago on the LPGA and **Steve Stricker** won four times this season on the PGA TOUR Champions circuit. Collectively, the 24 players have accumulated 75 career PGA TOUR victories and 19 LPGA wins.

Format Reminder: The order of formats for each competitive round was modified in 2014 and is Scramble (Friday), Modified Alternate Shot (Saturday) and Four Ball (Sunday).

<u>TV Schedule:</u> Golf Channel will broadcast Friday's first round competition live from 1:00 - 4:00 p.m. ET. Over the weekend, the final two rounds will feature live coverage on both Golf Channel and NBC. Saturday's coverage will begin from 1:30 - 2:30 p.m. on Golf Channel, then switching to NBC from 2:30 - 4:30 p.m. The final round will air on Golf Channel from 1:00 - 2:00 p.m. and on NBC from 2:00 - 4:00 p.m.